The Daily Nole

FSU S Derwin James Named to Fourth Preseason Watch List

Mitch White/FSU athletics

With just a freshman season under his belt, Florida State sophomore safety Derwin James has now been named to four preseason watch list. James was previously on the Lott IMPACT Trophy, Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy watch lists and was added to a fourth on Monday.

James was among 39 players to be named to the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is annually given to the nation’s best defensive back. James didn’t record an interception for FSU as a freshman in 2015, but did just about everything else.

Despite playing minimally early in the year, James led the Seminoles with 52 solo tackles and finished second on the team with 91 total tackles, 4.5 sacks, 9.5 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Iowa’s Desmond King also made the list after winning the Thorpe Award last season. As for James, he hopes to become the third Seminole to win the Thorpe. Deion Sanders won the award in 1988 while Terrell Buckley took home the hardware in 1991. FSU opens its 2016 season against Ole Miss in Orlando on Sept. 5.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply