The Daily Nole

FSU Scholarship Update: Travis Transfers to the Seminoles

Mitch White/FSU athletics

Florida State added some much-needed depth earlier this week when Louisville quarterback Jordan Travis elected to transfer to FSU. With National Signing Day a little more than a month away, FSU’s scholarship situation is becoming more clear.

We broke the situation down below with commitments added — even those unsigned. Florida State is sure to have more departures, but as it sits, the Seminoles are currently at 83 scholarships, assuming everyone returns.

The “conceivable departures” categories are players who have shown some interest in leaving. Quarterback Deondre Francois recently told the Orlando Sentinel that he was contemplating leaving for the NFL Draft. Tight end Alexander Marshall has put his name in the transfer portal, as did defensive end Xavier Peters and wide receiver D’Marcus Adams, but the latter two players took to social media to say they were not leaving.

There were conflicting reports as to whether or not linebacker Adonis Thomas would return for a redshirt senior season. Brian Burns, a junior defensive end this past season, recently declared for the NFL Draft and is not listed among the scholarship players.

Quarterbacks (3)

Eligible to Return: James Blackman, Deondre Francois, Jordan Travis
Commitments: None
Conceivable Departures: Francois

Running Backs (4)

Eligible to Return: Cam Akers, Anthony Grant, Khalan Laborn, Amir Rasul
Commitments: None
Conceivable Departures: None

Wide Receivers (11)

Eligible to Return: D’Marcus Adams, George Campbell, Keith Gavin, Tre’Shaun Harrison, Keyshawn Helton, D.J. Matthews, Tamorrion Terry, Warren Thompson, Ontaria Wilson, Jordan Young
Commitments: Maurice Goolsby
Conceivable Departures: None

Tight Ends (5)

Eligible to Return: Alexander Marshall, Camren McDonald, Tre’ McKitty, Gabe Nabers, Naseir Upshur
Commitments: None
Conceivable Departures: Marshall

Offensive Line (14)

Eligible to Return: Christian Armstrong, Mike Arnold, Abdul Bello, Landon Dickerson, Jalen Goss, Baveon Johnson, Christian Meadows, Cole Minshew, Chaz Neal, Brady Scott, Jauan Williams
Commitments: Dontae Lucas, Jay Williams, Maurice Smith
Conceivable Departures: None

Defensive Line (15)

Eligible to Return: Dennis Briggs, Jamarcus Chatman, Robert Cooper, Cory Durden, Joshua Kaindoh, Ja’len Parks, Xavier Peters, Janarius Robinson, Marvin Wilson, Cedric Wood
Commitments: Curtis Fann, Quashon Fuller (unsigned), Derrick McLendon, Malcolm Ray, Tru Thompson
Conceivable Departures: None

Linebackers (11)

Eligible to Return: DeCalon Brooks, Josh Brown, Amari Gainer, Dontavious Jackson, Emmett Rice, Adonis Thomas, Leonard Warner, Zaquandre White
Commitments: Kalen DeLoach, Jaleel McRae, Kevon Glenn
Conceivable Departures: Thomas

Defensive Backs (17)

Eligible to Return: Carlos Becker, Isaiah Bolden, Cyrus Fagan, A.J. Lytton, Kyle Meyers, Hamsah Nasirildeen, Asante Samuel, Jr., Stanford Samuels III, Levonta Taylor, Jaiden Woodbey
Commitments: Jarvis Brownlee, Nick Cross, (unsigned), Akeem Dent (unsigned), Brendan Gant (unsigned), Renardo Green, Travis Jay (unsigned), Raymond Woodie III
Conceivable Departures: None

Specialists (3)

Eligible to Return: Ricky Aguayo, Grant Glennon, Logan Tyler
Commitments: None
Conceivable Departures: None

Mike Ferguson is the editor of The Daily Nole. Follow Mike on Twitter @MikeWFerguson

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply