The Daily Nole

FSU Softball Takes Three ACC Individual Awards, Six Named All-Conference

Larry Novey/FSU athletics

It’s become commonplace for Florida State to rack up the end-of-the-year softball honors in the ACC.

Three of the five individual awards went to Seminoles. FSU also had an ACC-high six players selected to the All-ACC team.

For the second year in a row, third baseman Jessie Warren was named the ACC Player of the Year. Warren is hitting .403 this season with ACC-bests of 16 home runs and 54 RBIs. Warren also leads the conference in slugging percentage.

In her only season as a Seminole, Florida Atlantic transfer Kylee Hanson has been named the ACC Pitcher of the Year. Jessica Burroughs won that honor for FSU last season. Hanson is 25-4 this season with an ACC-leading 0.94 ERA. She has 194 strikeouts and just 37 walks in 163 innings pitched this season.

Sydney Sherrill, an infielder, was named the ACC Rookie of the Year. Sherill is hitting .373 this season with eight home runs and 43 RBIs. Sherrill leads the conference with an FSU-record 24 doubles.

Each of those three made the All-ACC first-team, along with outfielder Zoe Casas and pitcher Meghan King. Casas is hitting .292 with three home runs and 28 RBIs. King is 17-6 on the year with a 1.32 ERA.

Earning second-team honors was Carsyn Gordon, a junior first baseman. For the year, Gordon is hitting .346 with nine home runs and 44 RBIs. Gordon also leads the ACC with 47 runs scored.

The Seminoles will open the ACC Tournament on Thursday against either Syracuse or Louisville. To read the entire ACC release, click here.

Mike Ferguson is the editor of The Daily Nole. Follow Mike on Twitter @MikeWFerguson

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply