The Daily Nole

Who’s Next? Top Contenders for Retired Jerseys at FSU athletics

Florida State recently announced that legendary wide receiver Peter Warrick and his famous No. 9 jersey would be retired during the upcoming 2018 season. He joins a group of 10 former football players who have had their jersey retired by the university.

Few would disagree that Warrick’s impact on the team and college football were significant enough to do so. He was arguably the shiftiest, most exciting player to ever hit the gridiron for the Seminoles.

That got us thinking: who else should get their jersey retired by Florida State? We’re not limiting ourselves to just football — we’re taking a look at all the sports and determining which players are worthy of a potential commemoration. If there’s anyone we missed or who has an argument, feel free to comment or provide feedback.

As always, a big shoutout to our friends at for their comprehensive archive of Florida State athletics. This article would not be possible without their help, as they were the only site with many of these confirmed statistics.


Dalvin Cook (2014-16)
The numbers that Cook put up make him an obvious choice when discussing legendary jerseys. Only Warrick Dunn has an argument as a better running back, but Cook retains the top spot in career rushing yards, single-season rushing yards (2015 and 2016), and career rushing touchdowns, while also placing second in single-season touchdowns (2015 and 2016).

Every FSU fan knows that the numbers aren’t the primary reason Cook deserves a jersey retirement. For three years, Cook was one of the most electrifying runners the sport had ever seen. His burst was nearly unstoppable.

He turned in masterful performances against all of Florida State’s rivals, and his heroics in the 2016 Orange Bowl will go down in Seminoles’ history. When it comes to fan excitement, there’s few players that reached Cook’s level.

Rashad Greene (2011-14)
Florida State’s history of receivers includes names like Ron Sellers, Fred Biletknickoff, Peter Warrick, Anquan Boldin, etc. So Rashad Greene placing first in career receptions (270) and receiving yards (3,830) and second in receiving touchdowns (29) is downright stunning.

Rashad Greene is the only Seminole in FSU history to lead the team in receiving for four straight seasons. (Ross Obley/FSU athletics)

But those who watched him from 2011-14 know how he was able to achieve it. Greene was the prime example of a receiver with excellent fundamentals and dependability. No matter what you asked him to do, Greene could deliver in any situation. Even in the final minutes of the national championship.

His professional career might not pan out the way fans had hoped, but his place in FSU history should be unquestioned. Greene is the only player ever to lead the Seminoles in receiving for four straight seasons.

Jameis Winston (2012-14)
There’s obviously going to be a lot argument over whether or not Winston should be commemorated by the university. How much off-the-field transgressions matter has never really been put to the test. Warrick was caught shoplifting after all and suspended for two games during FSU’s 1999 national championship season.

Jameis Winston was 26-1 as a starter during his time at FSU. (Michael Schwarz/FSU athletics)

The facts remain that the other two quarterbacks to win the Heisman and a national championship both have their jerseys retired. Winston ranks in the top 3 at FSU for career passing touchdowns, career passing yards, single-season passing touchdowns, and single-season passing yards.

Winston would go on to become the first FSU player ever taken No. 1 overall in the NFL Draft when he was selected by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2015. He certainly has the accomplishments for a jersey retirement — everything beyond that is open to discussion.


Buster Posey (2006-08)
Posey has the best chance at a jersey retirement of anyone named in this piece. What he did at Florida State is unlikely to be matched any time soon. Much like Dalvin Cook and Warrick Dunn, Posey stands with just J.D. Drew in the pantheon. Drew’s jersey number currently hangs in left field.

Buster Posey is the last FSU player to win the Golden Spikes Award. (FSU athletics)

The list of accolades for Posey is pretty incredible. He was a first-team Freshman All-American, and a first-team All-American selection in his sophomore and junior years. But it was the 2008 junior year that turned him into a legend.

He won the Collegiate Baseball Player of the Year award, Golden Spikes Award, Johnny Bench Award and the Dick Howser Trophy after tallying a .463 batting average, 26 home runs, 93 RBIs, and finishing with a ridiculous .879 slugging percentage. Is it any surprise that Florida State made the College World Series that season?

It might not be until Posey retires from the big leagues, but rest assured, he’s got a clear path to jersey retirement at FSU.


Lacey Waldrop (2012-15)
It’s only been three years since Waldrop graduated from Florida State, but some sort of recognition is due soon. Her prowess as a pitcher earned her the USA National Softball Player of the Year award in 2014, making her only the second player in FSU history to receive the prestigious award.

Lacey Waldrop was a 3-time All-American at FSU. (Ross Obley/FSU athletics)

She was also named an All-American for three straight seasons and won ACC Pitcher of the Year in 2014 and 2015. She compiled a 1.76 career ERA, a 109-29 record and struck out 917 batters. Any way you slice it, players like Waldrop don’t come around very often.


Dagný Brynjarsdóttir (2011-14)

The most recent FSU national championship is due in large part to Brynjarsdóttir. As a 4-year starter for the Seminoles, Brynjarsdóttir currently holds the FSU record for game-winning goals (19) and comes in second place in total goals (44), shots (232), and points (111). Her potency as a scorer was absolutely essential to that 2014 squad who won it all in Boca Raton.

As a senior in 2014, Dagný Brynjarsdóttir helped FSU win its first soccer national championship. (Steve Musco/FSU athletics)

For her efforts, she was named a first-team All-American and was the runner-up for the Hermann Trophy. There is currently one other retired jersey for women’s soccer (Mami Yamaguchi). While Brynjarsdóttir might not have reached Yamaguchi’s level of excellence, she is still deserving of recognition.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply