The Daily Nole

Eight to be Inducted Into FSU Athletic Hall of Fame

John Biever /Sports Illustrated/Getty Images

Florida State’s athletic Hall of Fame will bring in eight new members in 2017, headlined by a former fullback, basketball coach and baseball star.

The lone football player to earn induction is former FSU fullback William Floyd. A lead blocker for the likes or Amp Lee, Sean Jackson and Warrick Dunn, Floyd made the most of his opportunity with the football, scoring 20 career touchdowns in three seasons. Floyd scored Florida State’s only touchdown in the 18-16 Orange Bowl victory over Nebraska for the 1993 national championship.

After playing for the Seminoles from 1991-93, Floyd went on to play seven years in the NFL, which included 90 career starts. Floyd helped the San Francisco 49ers defeat the San Diego Chargers in Super Bowl XXIX as a rookie.

Former FSU head basketball coach Pat Kennedy also earned induction. Kennedy took the Seminoles to the NCAA Tournament five times in 11 years from 1986-97. That included a trip to the Sweet 16 during the 1991-92 season and the Elite Eight the following year.

FSU has not reached the Elite Eight since that 1993 loss to Kentucky. Kennedy won at least 20 games five times as the head man and finished his career in Tallahassee with a record of 202-131.

Former FSU second baseman Tony Thomas will also earn an induction. From his freshman season of 2005 to his junior and final season of 2007, Thomas raised his average nearly 200 points. After batting .240 as a freshman and .289 as a sophomore, Thomas hit .430 in 2007 en route to earning All-American honors.

Over the course of his FSU career, Thomas hit .325 with 231 hits and 200 runs scored. Thomas also belted 23 career home runs and posted a career on-base percentage of .438. As a junior in 2007, that percentage was an ungodly .522.

Basketball star Greg Grady, who played center for the Seminoles from 1972-76, will also be inducted. Grady averaged 13.3 points and 10.3 rebounds during his junior year of 1974-75 while shooting 58 percent from the field. He finished his career with a field goal percentage of nearly 57 while averaging 9.4 points and almost eight rebounds.

Track and field athletes Rafeeq Curry and Teresa Bundy were each on the list to be inducted. Curry starred for the Seminoles from 2003-06 in the triple jump and was a 3-time ACC 4×400 relay champion. He was also a 9-time All-American and a major contributor to FSU’s first track and field national championship in 2006. Bundy ran for FSU from 1998-2002 and won the NCAA outdoor triple jump championship in 2002.

Soccer star India Trotter will also be inducted. Trotter played from 2003-06 and helped the Seminoles reach the College Cup three times. She was a MAC Herman Finalist in 2005 and 2006. Larry Strom, a former FSU basketball player, will be the Monroe-Stone honoree for his contributions to the university.

Inductees will be enshrined during an induction ceremony at 5:30 p.m. EST on Sept. 8. Click here to read the full release from the athletic department.

Mike Ferguson is the editor of The Daily Nole. Follow Mike on Twitter @MikeWFerguson

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply