The Daily Nole

FSU Hoops: Three Noles Earn ACC Honors

Phil Kelly/FSU athletics

Florida State had three different players end up being honored by the ACC in some capacity as postseason honors were announced on Sunday afternoon.

Sophomore guard and leading scorer Dwayne Bacon has been named a second-team All-ACC selection. Bacon is averaging nearly 17 points per game this season and has improved tremendously as an outside shooter. Bacon was the top vote-getter among second-team members.

FSU forward Jonathan Isaac was tied with N.C. State’s Dennis Smith, Jr. for the most votes on the ACC’s All-Freshman team. Isaac finished runner-up to Smith for ACC Freshman of the Year. Isaac has averaged 12.2 points per game this season and his 7.2 rebounds and 1.5 blocks per game average lead the team. Isaac was also honorable mention for the All-ACC team.

Xavier Rathan-Mayes didn’t make the first, second or third team, but was recognized for his defense. Rathan-Mayes came on strong late in the season as an on-the-ball defender for FSU and finishes on the conference’s All-Defensive team. Rathan-Mayes received just one Defensive Player of the Year vote.

FSU head coach Leonard Hamilton finished fourth in the ACC Coach of the Year voting. That honor will go to Georgia Tech’s Josh Pastner.

To see the full list of honorees, click here.

Mike Ferguson is the editor of The Daily Nole. Follow Mike on Twitter @MikeWFerguson

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply