The Daily Nole

FSU’s Izzo and Eberle Named to Watch Lists

Jeremy Esbrandt/FSU athletics

Two more Florida State players were named to preseason watch lists on Wednesday as tight end Ryan Izzo was named to the John Mackey Award watch list and center Alec Eberle was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list.

As a redshirt freshman in 2015, Izzo caught 14 passes for 210 yards and a pair of touchdowns. At 6-6 and 245 pounds, Izzo held his own as a blocker while finishing with 15 yards per reception, which is an outstanding average for a tight end.

The Mackey Award goes to the nation’s top tight end. Nick O’Leary became the first FSU player to win the Mackey Award in 2014.

Eberle, a redshirt sophomore, hopes to win the Rimington Trophy which goes to the nation’s top center. Eberle appeared in 10 games for FSU last season, which included six starts at center.

Eberle split time at the position with Ryan Hoefeld and Corey Martinez last season, but manned the spot in the middle for the Seminoles over the final half of the year. The only Seminole to win the Rimington is Bryan Stork, who took home the award as a senior in 2013.

Izzo and Eberle become the fourth and fifth Seminoles to be named to a watch list this week. Running back Dalvin Cook was named to the Maxwell Award watch list on Tuesday while defensive end DeMarcus Walker and safety Derwin James were each named to the Bednarik Award watch list. FSU opens the 2016 season against Ole Miss in Orlando on Sept. 5.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply