The Daily Nole

FSU Softball Sets ACC Record with Six First-Team Selections

Maury Neipris/FSU athletics

With Florida State less than an hour away from opening the ACC Softball Tournament, the Seminoles have already set a conference record.

The All-ACC teams were announced Thursday and FSU had a record six players selected to the conference’s first team. First team selections include sophomore outfielder Morgan Klaevemann, junior infielder Ellie Cooper, sophomore third baseman Jessica Warren, junior first baseman Alex Powers and pitchers Meghan King and Jessica Burroughs.

Powers was named ACC Player of the Year after hitting .403 with 13 home runs and 54 RBIs while playing in all 53 games. Burroughs took ACC Pitcher of the Year honors. Burroughs was 24-5 in 33 games with a 2.08 ERA.

FSU freshman infielder Carsyn Gordon was named to the conference’s second team. Head coach Lonni Alameda was the ACC Coach of the Year for the fourth straight season.

The Seminoles finished the season with a record of 45-8 and won the ACC’s regular season championship for a fourth straight year. FSU opens the ACC Tournament against Pittsburgh.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply